International Trauma Life Support (ITLS)

OSF East Central Illinois EMS has experienced instructors that deliver Illinois' own International Trauma Life Support program. The ITLS Provider course includes 8 hours of classroom instruction, 8 hours of hands-on skills training, and testing for ITLS Basic or Advanced certification. Innovative skills stations let you practice the abilities appropriate for your level of certification.

ITLS Provider Recertification focuses on recertification of trauma assessment and management skills for the experienced provider who has already completed the Basic or Advanced Provider course.

Most ITLS Provider cards are issued for a 3-year certification period. To recertify, providers must successfully complete a 1-day Recertification course. (To qualify for the recertification course, participants must have a current ITLS certification card or not beyond 60 days of expiration date).

Who should take this course?

ITLS utilizes a comprehensive approach to core knowledge and skills. ITLS Provider is appropriate for all levels of EMS personnel—from EMT-Bs and Emergency Medical Responders to advanced EMTs, paramedics, trauma nurses, and physicians.

Topics covered in this course?

Scene Size-up
Trauma Assessment and Management
Airway Management
Thoracic Trauma
Head Trauma
Spinal Trauma
Abdominal Trauma
Extremity Trauma
Pediatric Trauma
Geriatric Trauma
Trauma in Pregnancy
The Impaired Patient
Trauma Arrest
Standard Precautions

Skills Stations:
Assessment skills
Airway skills
Thoracic trauma skills
Vascular access skills
Spine management skills
Extremity trauma skills

How can I complete this course?

Contact a member of our team with questions.

For ECIEMS System members, please utilize NinthBrain to register.

For Non-ECIEMS System members, please utilize our Enrollware Scheduling Page .