Hospital Week and Nursing Excellence Winners Announced

5/16/2014 - Peoria, Illinois

National Hospital Week, the nation’s largest health care event, was first observed in 1921. The theme for 2014 is Compassion, Innovation, Dedication: The Commitment Continues. OSF Saint Francis Medical Center and Children’s Hospital of Illinois, in recognition of National Hospital Week, are pleased to announce the following award winners (with hometowns):

Heart of Saint Francis Award: Honors non-nursing employees who demonstrate excellence and exhibit pride in their work and job responsibilities, making a difference in the lives of patients, patient’s families, and co-workers.

  • Rick Comeens – Materials Management (Creve Coeur)
  • Deanna Zercher – Professional Development (Mackinaw)

Leader of the Year Award: Recognizes directors, managers, or supervisors who demonstrate excellence in leadership, foster teamwork, volunteering within the Medical Center and/or community, leading by example, and successfully implementing initiatives promoting employee satisfaction and development.

  • Dr. Mary Schultz – Resident Education (Groveland)

Sister Aeterna O.S.F., Mission Integration Award: Recognizes OSF Saint Francis employees who encourage and inspire by drawing from their own spirituality to support others. The award honors Sister Aeterna who, as a Sister Nurse and leader, cared for over 82,000 babies and their families with great skill and profound love. 

  • Amy Larson, Medical Information Services (Knoxville)
  • Deacon Bill Sloman, Chaplaincy Services (East Peoria)
  • Brenda Waremburg, Volunteer Services (Tremont)
  • Charlene Hoskins, Dietary (Peoria)
  • Sister Jacqueline Schroeder, Palliative Care 
  • Nancy Spooner, Volunteer Services – (Peoria)
  • Dr. Paulette Archer, College of Nursing (Peoria)
  • Dr. Richard Frederick, Emergency Medicine (Pekin)

Coinciding with Hospital Week was National Nurses Week. The 2014 Nursing Excellence recipients are:

  • Transformational Leadership: 
    • Direct: Kim Campbell – Medical Information Services (Farmington)
    • Indirect: Layne Steffen – 6 Sigma (Washington)
    • Nurse Leader: Abby Lotz – Medical Int./Neuro-Surgical Intermediate (Metamora)
  • Empowerment:             
    • Direct: Kami Henriques - PACU (Peoria)
  • Innovator in Nursing:   
    • Direct: Freedom Andal – Adult Cardiac ICU (Pekin)
    • Indirect: Jenni Cuthbert – Learning Academy (Edwards)
  • Exemplary Professional Practice:                     
    • Direct: Amy Vandel – Labor and Delivery (East Peoria)
    • Indirect: Heidi Florey – Surgery – Neurology (Bartonville)
    • APN: Laura Youngman – Wound Healing and Hyperbaric Center (Chillicothe)

News Release Images | OSF Saint Francis Medical Center & Children's Hospital of Illinois



Stacy Campbell
Community Relations Coordinator
(309) 655-2321