OSF Saint Elizabeth Foundation Awards Scholarships to Local Students

4/29/2015 - Ottawa, Illinois

Fourteen area seniors were recognized last week at a scholarship luncheon hosted by the Foundation at OSF Saint Elizabeth Medical Center. Recipients from Marquette Academy, Ottawa Township High School (OTHS), Seneca and Serena High Schools were nominated by guidance counselors at their respective schools based on their indicated interest in a health-related field.

The annual event serves to both honor students for their achievements as well as to give them an opportunity to interact with a panel of health care professionals who have worked within their respective fields. Students were encouraged to ask questions and tour various areas of the hospital upon completion of the luncheon.

“Our Foundation believes in the potential of our young people and has chosen to invest in them by awarding scholarships over the years,” said Karen Brodbeck, the hospital’s marketing and communications director, who emceed the event. “We’ve given away more than $100,000 so far. And, some of our recipients have actually come back to work as Mission Partners upon graduation!”

Scholarship recipients, along with their current high school and anticipated college major include:

Ottawa Township High School

  • Molly Bute, Optometry
  • Chelsea Fogarty, Nurse Practitioner
  • Mara Hanley, Physician Assistant
  • Taylor Marvin, Medical Pathologist
  • Bailey Bradish, Physical Therapy
  • Megan Pentecost, Speech Language Pathology
  • Mackenzie Rombach, Oncology or Pharmacology
  • Jillian Wignes, Physician Assistant

Marquette Academy

  • Madison Anderson, Physical Therapy
  • Alyssa Steege, Biochemistry

Seneca High School

  • Jessica Clubb, Nursing
  • Rachelle Townsell, Nursing

Serena High School

  • Marie Christensen, Nursing
  • Melissa Rose, Nursing

Members of the Foundation Board of Directors presented the scholarship checks at the luncheon. Local community members serving on this board include:

  • Christina Cantlin (Vice Chair)
  • Jeffrey Crowhurst, DPM
  • Phil Devermann (Chair)
  • Renae Gallagher
  • Steven Gonzalo
  • Peg Kramer (Secretary)
  • Bill Kummer
  • Mark Palmer (Treasurer)
  • George Shanley
  • Matt Winchester
  • Judy Wrobel

The following Mission Partners contributed as speakers and panelists at the event:

  • Andrea Meyer, CCC – SLP/L (Speech Language Pathologist)
  • Beth Roper, DPT, ATC, WCC (Physical Therapist/Athletic Trainer)
  • Jackie Gamons, RN, BSN (Patient Care Manager – OB)

For more information about OSF Saint Elizabeth or its Foundation, call (815) 431-5441.



Brianne Riley
Community Relations Coordinator
(815) 431-5498