OSF HealthCare Announces Nursing Excellence Award Winners

8/14/2017 - Ottawa, Illinois

  • (Back Row L-R) Faith McNamara, Jody Kinkin, Julianne Foster and Emily Sage. (Front Row L-R) Jeanna Schiltz, Jackie Yacko, Kaitlyn Burdette, Samantha Hall and Heather Story. Not pictured: Caitlin Hall.

OSF HealthCare is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2017 Nursing Excellence Awards. These awards recognize nurses across the OSF HealthCare Ministry who are nominated by co-workers and leadership in recognition of exemplary work.

The awards are given in five areas: The Exemplary Professional Practice Award; The Innovator in Nursing Award; The Empowerment Award; The Transformational Leadership in Nursing Award; and The Nurse Leader on a Collaborative Team Award.

Nominations were received for the following OSF HealthCare nurses who staff a number of local facilities including OSF HealthCare Saint Elizabeth Medical Center, OSF HealthCare Center for Health - Streator and OSF Medical Group physician offices:

Transformational Leadership:
Samantha Hall, RN and Caitlin Hall, RN                                       

Kaitlyn Burdette, RN; Heather Story, RN and Faith McNamara, RN

Innovator in Nursing:
Emily Sage, RN and Jackie Yacko, RN

Exemplary Professional Practice:
Julianne Foster, RN; Jody Kinkin, RN and Jeanna Schiltz, RN                  

Of the multiple nominations received, one local nurse was awarded. Jeanna Schiltz, RN with the OSF Medical Group - Ottawa Orthopedics office was honored with the Exemplary Professional Practice Award.

The Exemplary Professional Practice Award goes to a nurse who exhibits a variety of characteristics including acting as a patient and family advocate, being the “go to” person on a unit and exemplifying team spirit. Jeanna was described by her nominator as “an extraordinary nurse who consistently displays enthusiasm, professionalism and engagement, always placing the patient first, no matter where she serves.”



Brianne Riley
Community Relations Coordinator
(815) 431-5498