Head of Comprehensive Stroke Center Elected to Leadership Position with National Organization

5/12/2017 - Peoria, Illinois

Dr. David Wang has been elected Chair of the American Academy of Neurology (AAN) Stroke and Vascular Neurology Section.

Dr. Wang is the Director of the OSF HealthCare Illinois Neurological Institute Stroke Network; Director of the Comprehensive Stroke Center at OSF HealthCare Saint Francis Medical Center; Director of the Stroke Fellowship Program; and Clinical Professor of Neurology at the University of Illinois College of Medicine at Peoria.

Additionally, Dr. Wang is a guest professor at three medical colleges in China. Recognized as a leader in stroke care and quality improvement, Dr. Wang is the co-author of the 2013 American Heart Association/American Stroke Association acute ischemic stroke care guidelines.

As AAN Section Chair, Dr. Wang was nominated and elected by members of the section, which is comprised of over 1700 AAN members. His term runs through April 2019. 

Established in 1948, the American Academy of Neurology is an international professional association of more than 32,000 neurologists and neuroscience professionals dedicated to promoting the highest quality patient-centered neurologic care.



Shelli Dankoff
Media Relations Program Manager
(309) 655-3897