Melissa R. House, APN Play Video Download PDF

Melissa R. House, APN

Primary Office

OSF Medical Group - Roxbury Family Medicine

621 Roxbury Road
Rockford, Illinois 61107
ph: (815) 397-3350
fx: (815) 282-1298

Office Hours:
Monday 8 AM - 7 PM
Tuesday - Friday 8 AM - 5 PM
Second Saturday of the Month 8 AM - Noon
Add to Contacts

Medical Education: Northern Illinois University (DeKalb, IL)

Board Certification(s): American Nurses Credentialing Center

Clinical Interests: Diabetes, Geriatrics, Heart Disease, Heart Failure, Preventive Care, Women's Health

Publications: View PubMed List

Associated with: OSF Medical Group, OSF Saint Anthony Medical Center

Melissa grew up in a family full of nurses. She always enjoyed listening to the stories her grandmother and three aunts would tell at family gatherings. For as long as she can remember, she always wanted to be a nurse.

Right after high school, Melissa began pursuing her license to work as a registered nurse (RN). Once she achieved that goal, she began working in the cardiac progressive care unit at OSF HealthCare Saint Anthony Medical Center in Rockford, Illinois. She craved to learn more, though, and often spent time outside of work studying diagnoses and treatment plans. It seemed natural to her to pursue a master’s degree to become a nurse practitioner (APN).

“I enjoy the autonomy as a nurse practitioner, and now have the opportunity to serve patients in a different capacity,” she said. “My philosophy of nursing is a holistic approach that takes into account all aspects of a patient's care, including body, mind, spirit, and environment, to help bring about healing.”

Melissa is married to a very supportive husband who also works as a nurse. They have three children. She likes to spend her free time with family and friends. She comes from a large family with six siblings who she tries to see as often as possible. She enjoys reading, watching movies and, when it’s nice outside, she can be found outdoors walking, riding a bike or hiking.