OSF Saint Elizabeth Medical Center

Ottawa, Illinois

Awards & Recognition

“Providing safe, high-quality care has always been our focus and we thank our dedicated Mission Partners who work together as a coordinated team to deliver exceptional care and service every day.” - Ken Beutke, President of OSF Saint Elizabeth

OSF Saint Elizabeth Medical Center has been recognized for providing exceptional patient care. Recent awards and accreditations are detailed below. To read more about awards and recognition, please click here .

Awards & Accreditations

Award Organization Date
"A" Grade The Leapfrog Group Spring 2019
4-Star Rating Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) May 2019
Performance Leadership Award: Overall Excellence in Quality National Organization of State Offices of Rural Health (NOSORH) November 2018
Blue Distinction® Center+ for Maternity Care Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Illinois (BCBSIL) February 2018
Meritorious Outcomes for Surgical Patients American College of Surgeons (NSQIP) 2017

Pioneers in QualityTM Solution Contributor

The Joint Commission 2017
Accreditation Organization
Joint Commission Accredited Hospital The Joint Commission
Computed Tomography (CT) Imaging American College of Radiology
Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) American College of Radiology
Mammography & 3D Mammography American College of Radiology
Nuclear Medicine American College of Radiology
Ultrasound American College of Radiology

About the Organizations

  • American College of Radiology (ACR)

  • The ACR, founded in 1924, is a professional medical society dedicated to serving patients and society by empowering radiology professionals to advance the practice, science and professions of radiological care. The College serves more than 37,000 diagnostic/interventional radiologists, radiation oncologists, nuclear medicine physicians, and medical physicists with programs focusing on the practice of medical imaging and radiation oncology and the delivery of comprehensive health care services.  The ACR gold seal of accreditation represents the highest level of image quality and patient safety. It is only awarded to facilities meeting ACR Practice Parameters and Technical Standards after a peer-review evaluation by board-certified physicians and medical physicists who are experts in the field. Image quality, personnel qualifications, adequacy of facility equipment, quality control procedures and quality assurance programs are assessed. The findings are reported to the ACR Committee on Accreditation, which subsequently provides the practice with a comprehensive report that can be used for continuous practice improvement. ( www.acr.org )

  • American College of Surgeons (NSQIP)
  • The American College of Surgeons is a scientific and educational organization of surgeons that was founded in 1913 to raise the standards of surgical practice and to improve the care of the surgical patient.  The College is dedicated to the ethical and competent practice of surgery. Its achievements have significantly influenced the course of scientific surgery in America and have established it as an important advocate for all surgical patients.  The College has more than 80,000 members and it is the largest organization of surgeons in the world.  ACS NSQIP is the only nationally validated quality improvement program that measures and enhances the care of surgical patients. This program measures the actual surgical results 30 days postoperatively as well as risk adjusts patient characteristics to compensate for differences among patient populations and acuity levels.  The goal of ACS NSQIP is to reduce surgical morbidity (infection or illness related to a surgical procedure) and surgical mortality (death related to a surgical procedure) and to provide a firm foundation for surgeons to apply what is known as the “best scientific evidence” to the practice of surgery.  Furthermore, when adverse effects from surgical procedures are reduced and/or eliminated, a reduction in health care costs follows.  ACS NSQIP is a major program of the American College of Surgeons and is currently used in nearly 850 adult and pediatric hospitals. ( www.facs.org )

  • Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Illinois (BCBSIL)

  • The Blue Distinction Centers+ for Maternity Care program evaluates hospitals on quality measures for vaginal and cesarean delivery. To receive a Blue Distinction Centers+ for Maternity Care designation, a hospital must also demonstrate cost-efficiency. Only those hospitals that first meet Blue Distinction’s nationally-established, objective quality measures will be considered for designation as a Blue Distinction Center+. Hospitals recognized with the Blue Distinction Centers+ for Maternity Care designation are assessed using a combination of quality information supplied by hospitals and cost measures derived from BCBS companies’ medical claims. ( www.bcbsil.com )

  • Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS)
  • Hospitals report data to CMS through the Hospital Inpatient Quality Reporting (IQR) and Hospital Outpatient Quality Reporting (OQR) programs. This data is inputted into the Star Rating Program, a five-star quality rating system created by CMS, that measures the experiences Medicare beneficiaries have with their health plan and health care system. Hospitals are evaluated for their performance in the areas of patient experience, timeliness and effectiveness of care, complications & deaths, unplanned hospital visits, use of medical imaging, and payment and value of care. The overall hospital rating ranges from 1 to 5 stars, with 5 being the highest. The most common overall hospital rating is 3 stars. ( www.cms.gov )

  • National Organization of State Offices of Rural Health (NOSORH)

  • The National Organization of State Offices of Rural Health (NOSORH) was established in 1995 to assist State Offices of Rural Health in their efforts to improve access to, and the quality of, health care for America’s 61 million rural citizens. NOSORH enhances the capacity of SORHs to do this by supporting the development of state and community rural health leaders; creating and facilitating state, regional and national partnerships that foster information sharing and spur rural health-related programs/activities; and enhancing access to quality healthcare services in rural communities. ( www.nosorh.org )

  • The Joint Commission
  • Founded in 1951, The Joint Commission seeks to continuously improve health care for the public, in collaboration with other stakeholders, by evaluating health care organizations and inspiring them to excel in providing safe and effective care of the highest quality and value. The Joint Commission accredits and certifies more than 21,000 health care organizations and programs in the United States. An independent, nonprofit organization, The Joint Commission is the nation’s oldest and largest standards-setting and accrediting body in health care. Pioneers in Quality™ recognition is not an indicator or measure of data quality or quality of care, but an indicator of an organization’s commitment to adopting eCQMs toward quality improvement. It recognizes eCQM data reporting and other contributions that advance eCQM adoption in health care. For more information about The Joint Commission and the Pioneers in Quality™ program, visit www.jointcommission.org .

  • The Leapfrog Group

  • Developed under the guidance of a national expert panel, the Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade uses 28 measures of publicly available hospital safety data to assign grades to more than 2,600 U.S. acute-care hospitals twice per year. The Hospital Safety Grade’s methodology is peer-reviewed and fully transparent, and the results are free to the public. ( www.leapfroggroup.org )