OSF Saint Francis Medical Center

Peoria, Illinois

Faculty & Staff

Administrative Team

paul-amodeo.jpg Paul A. Amodeo, DDS, Director

Following a family tradition from five other family members, Dr. Amodeo attended Creighton University undergraduate majoring in biology. Liking the area of Omaha, Nebraska he pursued dentistry as his career and earned a Doctorate of Dental Surgery from Creighton School of Dentistry in 1990. He has been in private practice in Northern and Central Illinois for 24 years before moving from the private sector to a hospital-based General Practice Residency as a Coordinator. For ten years he provided dental care at the Illinois Veterans Home as the Chief Staff dentist, allowing him to gain much experience in hospital and operating room dentistry.

Dr. Amodeo has been very active in his professional career serving as a delegate to the Illinois State Dental Society, delegate to the American Dental Association, and committee chair for the ISDS. Locally, he is a member of the Peoria District Dental Society serving on the Board of Governors and chaired numerous committees. His passion for teaching and education prompted him to provide lectures and presentations to a variety of audiences over his professional career. He is looking forward to sharing his experiences to new dental residents every year.


Bishop-Dr-Sue-1384.jpg Susan B. Bishop, DDS, Assistant Director


A graduate of the Washington University School of Dental Medicine, Dr. Bordenave-Bishop also earned a BS in nursing from Loyola University and a BS in Medical Technology. She furthered her studies with completion of a pediatric dentistry fellowship at St. Louis Children's Hospital. Currently, Dr. Bordenave-Bishop practices general dentistry in private practice in addition to her work as Dental Director of the Peoria City/County Health Department.

Dr. Bordenave-Bishop is a Past President of the Peoria District Dental Society, President of the Illinois Foundation of Dentistry for the Handicapped, Immediate Past President of the Academy of Dentistry InternationaI, Editor of the Illinois Section of the American College of Dentistry, AGD Region 8 Regional Director and Past President of the Illinois AGD. She has served as a member of the AGD Self Instruction and Long Range Planning Committees and the Council on Communications. She also served as a delegate to the AGD House of Delegates and ADA House of Delegates. Her other organized dentistry involvement includes serving on the ADA CAPIR, Illinois State Dental Society Access to Care Committee Chair and Affiliate Member of the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry. Additionally, she is a Fellow of the Academy of Dentistry International, American College of Dentists and International College of Dentistry. She earned her AGD Fellowship in 1994 and Mastership in 2003.

gary-herberger-dds.jpg Gary Herberger, DDS, Faculty

Dr. Herberger is a Peoria native whose quest for excellence is evident in his academic achievements as well as in his dental care. He began his collegiate career as a James Scholar in Mechanical Engineering at the University of Illinois in Champaign, working as a co-operative education student for Ford Motor Company. In 1974 his interests changed from engineering to dentistry and he began studying at the University of Illinois College of Dentistry where he received his Doctor of Dental Surgery degree with honors four years later. After graduation, he completed a one year General Practice Residency at Illinois Masonic Hospital in Chicago before joining Associates in Dentistry in July 1979. In 1983, Dr. Herberger became a partner in the business with office hours in both the Canton and Bartonville Family Dental Centers.


Mary-Gomez-medc.jpg Mary Joyce Gomez, DDS, Clinical Attending Supervisor


Dr. Mary Joyce Gomez practiced hospital-based dentistry in the Philippines for 8 years before she migrated here in the US. Because of her love for dentistry and her desire to minister to people through this profession, she pursued dental education and graduated with HONORS at the University of Illinois College of Dentistry in Chicago with a degree of Doctor of Dental Surgery. She completed her GPR training at OSF Saint Francis Medical Center in 2013 and was immediately offered the position of Attending Faculty and Clinical Supervisor of the OSF East Bluff Dental Residency Clinic. In Oct. 2014, after being nominated by her colleagues, she was inducted as a Fellow of the Academy of Dentist International – an esteemed organization of international dentists that have impacted their society and the profession through humanitarian service, education and exceptional practice of dentistry.

On days she’s not at OSF, Dr. Gomez practices at her private office in Downtown Chicago. On her free time, she pursues 2 of her most favorite “hobbies” – shopping and playing with her beloved dog, Kenneth.


Stephen M. Benjamin, D.M.D., M.S. – Endodontics
Christopher J. Couri, D.D.S., M.S. – Periodontics
William E. Cusack, D.D.S., M.S. – Periodontics
Michael D. Danner, D.D.S. - General Dentistry
James L. Davis, D.M.D. - General Dentistry
Denise Flynn, D.D.S., M.S. – Orthodontics
Mary Joyce Gomez, D.D.S. General Dentistry
Derek Grzanich, D.M.D. – General Dentistry
Fabian G. Hosein, D.D.S., – Endodontics
Richard P. June, D.D.S. - General Dentistry
Albert Klinski, D.D.S. - General Dentistry
Daniel Lovell, D.M.D., M.S. – Orthodontics
Nizar Merheb M.D., D.D.S. – O.M.S.
Nisha Menta, D.D.S. - Endodontics
Larry D. Otte D.M.D. – O.M.S.
John J. Otten M.D., D.D.S. – O.M.S.
Bethelen Pudik, D.D.S. - General Dentistry
Edward Rick, D.D.S., M.S. - Pediatric Dentistry
Stephen C. Roehm D.D.S., MS – Orthodontics
Nathan D. Schroeder, D.M.D., M.S. – O.M.S.
Timm J. Schwartz, D.D.S. - General Dentistry
Spencer Schoff, D.D.S. - Periodontics
Jamie L. Smith, D.D.S., M.S. - Pediatric Dentistry
Linda Thomas - Dental Software Training
Glen Thompson, D.M.D. - General Dentistry
Jack G. Walz, D.D.S. - TMJ/TMD & Facial Pain
Rob Wynn, D.M.D. – General Dentistry
Jacqueline L. Fischer, M.D. – Internal Medicine
Harleena Kendhari, M.D. – Pediatric Medicine
James G. Priepot, M.D. – Anesthesia
Manuel Valerin, D.D.S., General Dentistry